Women’s Law

In India, women’s rights and legal protections are enshrined in various laws and regulations aimed at ensuring gender equality and addressing issues related to discrimination, violence, and social injustice. Here are some key aspects of women’s law in India:

  1. Constitutional Provisions:
    • The Indian Constitution guarantees equality before the law and prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex under Article 15(1).
    • Article 14 ensures the right to equality for all citizens.
  2. Protection of Women from Domestic Violence Act, 2005:
    • This law is designed to protect women from domestic violence and provides for the issuance of protection orders, residence orders, and monetary relief.
    • It recognizes various forms of abuse, including physical, verbal, emotional, economic, and sexual.
  3. Dowry Prohibition Act, 1961:
    • The Dowry Prohibition Act prohibits the giving or taking of dowry at the time of marriage.
    • It aims to prevent the harassment and abuse of women related to dowry demands.
  4. Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition, and Redressal) Act, 2013:
    • This law mandates the establishment of Internal Complaints Committees (ICC) at workplaces to address complaints of sexual harassment.
    • It defines sexual harassment and outlines the procedure for filing complaints and conducting inquiries.
  5. Maternity Benefit Act, 1961:
    • The Maternity Benefit Act provides for maternity leave and other benefits for women employees.
    • It ensures that women have the right to maternity leave and other related benefits during pregnancy and childbirth.
  6. Medical Termination of Pregnancy Act, 1971:
    • This act regulates the conditions under which a pregnancy can be terminated and ensures that women have the right to make decisions regarding their reproductive health.
  7. Prohibition of Child Marriage Act, 2006:
    • This law prohibits the solemnization of marriages where either of the parties is below the age of 18 for girls and 21 for boys.
  8. Crimes Against Women:
    • Various sections of the Indian Penal Code (IPC) deal with crimes against women, such as rape, dowry death, cruelty by husband or his relatives, and more.
  9. National Commission for Women (NCW):
    • The NCW is a statutory body that works to protect and promote the rights of women in India.
Call Now Button